League of Missing Persons

Inspired by a ridiculous number of sources I won’t even bother to enumerate.

What if all the famous missing people came back from some alternate reality and formed a guild of pulp heroes?

Who would make the roster, and what kinds of strange abilities would they have?

I submit Fred Noonan, copilot to one Amelia Earhart. Amelia gets all the fame, and nobody remembers poor Fred, who is just as missing. His power would be “out of sight, out of mind”- nobody would ever remember him. He could sneak around, or, hell, just walk around, and get away with anything. As soon as he walked away, everyone would forget they’d ever met him.

Maybe he’d be bitter about it and be a villain, I don’t know.

Anybody else have a favorite missing person who might make the cut?

~ by oberon the fool on February 1, 2009.

4 Responses to “League of Missing Persons”

  1. This sounds like a fun thought experiment – I mean, if I could think of any missing people. Which I couldn’t. But I figured wikipedia could. So I asked them. Here’s a list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_people_who_have_disappeared

    This should help some of us out. I think the Black Bart guy sounds like a good bet. Or ALL of the Roanoke colonists. Whatever happened to them, I bet they’re pissed. :)

  2. Yeah, I saw that list too. I was actually going to post it, but upon further examination it turns out that some of those people only disappeared temporarily.

    The Roanoke thing has been done a bunch of times… in fact there’s a game sitting on my shelf called Roanoke. Maybe we’ll play it some time.

    So, what’s Black Bart’s power?

  3. Black Bart can eclipse the sun and blacken the sky at will. Well, mostly. Sometimes it doesn’t work. When he’s eaten onions. But he doesn’t know that, so he hasn’t quite figured it out yet. And he loves Chicago style hot dogs.

  4. Nice. Well done.

Leave a Reply

 
