RPG Podcasters! SHUT THE HELL UP!! (Or at least do some damn research!!)

I listen to a lot of podcasts, which I hate calling podcasts, but I’m tired of beating my head against that particular wall, so I’m just giving up that fight and moving on. Let me start over.

I listen to a lot of podcasts. Podcasts about various things, but a lot of them about role playing games. And in the last few years, a lot of ‘casts have set themselves the task of introducing their listeners to some of the new terminologies and techniques being explored and discovered and created by people who are into exploring, and creating new terminologies and techniques. Which is admirable, since there are a LOT of these terms and techniques and they are often confusing or vague or subject to misinterpretation. So, I would be pleased about this… if any of them were getting it right.

Mostly, they are not. They are, in fact, depending on hearsay, or just taking wild guesses at the meanings and applications of said terms and techniques. Which would be fine if they were presenting them as such- guesses and hearsay- and not as “here, let us, people in an ostensible position of knowledge, hand down from on high this information to you, the listener”.

This is, in my opinion, a criminal act, and it’s repeated perpetration infuriates me to the point of driving down the road screaming at the top of my lungs at the voices on the speakers before just turning the damn thing off because I’m about to have a coronary.

Dissemination of incorrect, unresearched, unvalidated information is evil. It makes me want to hurt you. And I LIKE you. I don’t WANT to hurt you, but you’re forcing my hand.

So, I’m not going to name names. I don’t have to, because, chances are, if you’ve podcasted about any of the Forge-y jargon, you are guilty.

It’s not like there aren’t SOURCES to go to for the correct information, because there ARE. Here’s one: Roleplaying Theory, Hardcore. It’s actually written by someone who, and this may sound crazy, I grant you, someone who actually KNOWS WHAT THE FUCK THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. His name is Vincent Baker, and aside from generally being an excellent human being, he happens to have given this stuff more than casual thought. And, as a bonus, POSTED A BUNCH OF IT ONLINE so that people like you, who want to broadcast about any of these subjects, can DO SOME GODDAMN RESEARCH BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH AND MISLEAD YOUR LISTENERS!

There is enough confusion and misunderstanding in the gaming community as it is without people making gospel out of half-understood ideas by presenting them as knowledge.

~ by oberon the fool on March 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
