Exercise Program.

So, in addition to watching what I eat, I have resumed my intermittent exercise program. It’s very simple.

Step 1 : When I wake up in the morning, before I do anything else, before even changing out of my boxers, I step right out of bed and do windsprints back and forth down the length of the apartment.

Step 2 : After about ten of those, I do jumping jacks. I started with 20, and I add 5 every few days.

Step 3 : Then, I pretend my apartment is being invaded by ninjas.

Yeah, Step 3 is exactly as spastic and ridiculous as it sounds. But hey, it gets my heart rate up, and it’s more fun than whatever you do.

Starting the day like this has an immediate and profound effect on my energy level and attitude throughout the day. Somehow, I always forget that. I wonder if perhaps there isn’t some sort of law of diminishing returns, where one would have to continually increase the level and duration of one’s salutory exertions in order to sustain the effect. I guess that’s a no-brainer, isn’t it. Yeah. No wonder I can never keep it up for more than a few months. Stupid biology.

~ by oberon the fool on March 10, 2009.

3 Responses to “Exercise Program.”

  1. I’d be afraid of stepping on something sharp and/or potentially hazardous if I were you, running in your apartment. And also, doesn’t your roommate hate all of that noise/activity so early in the morning? And WHOA. You wrote “ninjas” and you are totally all over me/on my case if I ever pluralize it in that way. CHANGE IT, or suffer the consequences (i.e. Me nagging You about This).

  2. I make sure there are no sharp things first.
    Ninjas fight silently, and so do I.
    I have decided that when referring to ninjas-as-meme, it is acceptable to use the incorrect plural. In fact, I use the incorrect plural specifically to denote ninjas-as-meme.
    Actual/historical ninja are still to be referred to by the correct plural.
    Good looking out, though.

  3. […] posted something about his morning exercises, which involve sprints and jumping jacks and imaginary ninja. Mine involve yoga and pilates […]

Leave a Reply

 
