33 is not old.

But it sure feels that way. My morning exercises have left my ankles and shoulders painful. My skin is dry and sensitive. I always feel tired. Granted, watching my diet and exercising a bit have helped, but still. I feel, some days, like my body is betraying me.

I am afraid of getting old. I’m afraid of sinking into decrepitude. I’m afraid of having to work harder and harder to maintain a mediocre level of health and activity.

I’m only 33, and I feel like I’m already over the hill and rolling down fast. =(

~ by oberon the fool on March 22, 2009.

One Response to “33 is not old.”

  1. Maybe it’s a combination of things – like not getting enough sleep, having a physical outside all the time job, just coming out of winter, beginning to exercise again…

    I know how you feel, though. I was walking yesterday and wondering if my feet would be too sore to go out again today – when I’d actually planned to meet other people for the specific purpose of walking. I wonder if I’ll ever feel *spry* again? I hope so, and that it’s just a matter of conditioning.

    I really worry about injuring joints and ligaments from whatever I’m doing – which is why I started doing stuff in the water, since I can bounce around to my heart’s content while my knees stay happy. I’d rather not hit 40 and find myself unable to move. That’d be the worst thing. I’m mentally tossing around the idea of finding some kind of work that’s a bit more active and a bit less sedentary. Human bodies were meant to move, not sit at a desk all day.

    Maybe you need to find a gentler way to get your heart rate up first thing in the morning. Like, walk around a little bit and then go punch something in your garage for a few.

Leave a Reply

 
