Just Another Link in the Wall… or something like that.

These are all links from my Facebook wall. First, some audio fiction, one complete and one ongoing:

LibriVox » Red Nails by Robert E. Howard
Full of pulpy goodness, like the Apples of Derketa themselves. And possibly soon to be an animated movie with Ron Perlman and Mark Hamill, if Wikipedia is to be believed. Give it a listen for free! And try to ignore Greg’s mispronunciation of “Stygian”, he does a pretty good job with the rest of the tongue twisting names.

***

Another of my favorite audio dramas, John Meagher is not only a great writer, but a great narrator. Tales of the Left Hand. is midway through the second book now, and still gaining steam. And it’s free to read or listen to! You really can’t go wrong if you like intrigue sprinkled with a little magic and a liberal dash of shwashbucklery.

***

And one ongoing web fiction:

Hatched Plots is a pretty excellent stand-alone chapter of Tales of MU, and, for the squeamish, one with no naughty bits. (For those desirous of naughty bits, there are plenty in the rest of the story). Those who are familiar with the whole of the story will get more out of this than those who aren’t, but it reads just fine on its own as well.

***

And we wrap up with a couple political/social awareness/commentary bits:

Class sex toy demonstration causes controversy – The Daily Northwestern – Campus
The people who are complaining about this are self-loathing fearmongers who are terrified by the fact that other people might make different decisions about what they enjoy than they themselves would feel comfortable doing, even if, deep down in places they don’t want to admit to, they really, really wish they could.

***

I literally could not force myself to watch this all the way through. These people make me ashamed to be American. THIS IS THE OPPOSITE OF WHAT AMERICA STANDS FOR, YOU WRITHING FUCKTARDS!
Tea Party shows up to protest Muslim charity event.

***

That’s all for now, folks. Tune in next time, when I may or may not post more links, unless I do or do not do something else entirely.

~ by oberon the fool on March 8, 2011.

3 Responses to “Just Another Link in the Wall… or something like that.”

  1. Have I influenced you in some strange way, my friend? I like posting things in BOTH places, ’cause I have a different set of friends in each. (With some overlap.) Besides. I can always EXPOUND on my LJ. I hope I’ve not been driving you nuts. I always like being reminded to read your blog. Your blog is GREAT!

  2. shwashbucklery is a splendid word.

  3. Isn’t it, though?

Leave a Reply

 
